Australian Domestic Travel Restrictions

Australian Domestic Travel Restrictions

Australian Domestic Travel Restrictions

The current border situation within Australia is a giant mess.

It is so confusing and so hard to keep up, so I decided to give you a summary to save you scrolling through the various government websites. 

Here is the current situation as of today - Friday October 22nd (remember, this could change at ANY time)...also remember that there are requirements for re-entering a state and permits are required for all states and can be obtained via the relevant government websites. 


Who can travel to NSW?

Opera House NSW

Most of the country is now able to travel to New South Wales without restriction.

The only state that NSW restricts entry from is Victoria, which has been listed as an affected area.

Anyone entering NSW from Victoria has to fill out a declaration form and follow stay-at-home rules for 14 days since they left Victoria. 

They are still allowed to leave home for some restricted reasons, such as obtaining food and services, travelling for work or education if you can't do it from home, medical care, getting vaccinated and exercising.

This requirement is expected to remain until November 1st, when it will allow fully vaccinated people from Victoria to enter without the need to quarantine. 

Exemptions apply for residents of some border communities.

Who can travel to Victoria?


People currently in Queensland, SA, WA, Tasmania and the NT are all permitted to travel to Victoria.

Victoria has designated the ACT and the Greater Sydney area of NSW as Orange Zones. 

That means fully vaccinated people who have been in those areas in the past 14 days are are allowed to enter with a permit from Service Victoria and go about their business (following all local restrictions, of course).

People who aren't fully vaccinated will have to get a test and isolate until a negative result is returned.

People from parts of NSW outside Greater Sydney are able to enter Victoria without restriction if they have a border pass.

Who can travel to the ACT?


The ACT has closed its border to all of Victoria and much of NSW, outside of surrounding postcode areas in the south-eastern corner of the state.

People who've been in Victoria or non-exempted parts of NSW in the 14 days prior to entering must complete an exemption form and quarantine upon their arrival in the ACT.

Non-residents need an exemption before arriving.

The ACT has designated "approved border postcodes" in southern NSW, which allows travel into and out of those areas without quarantine.

From November 1, ACT residents will be able to visit Sydney and the rest of NSW without having to quarantine on their return.

Who can travel to Queensland?


Queensland lists NSW, Victoria and the ACT as COVID-19 hotspots, obstructing travel from the southeastern corner of mainland Australia.

There are different circumstances in place for border communities in northern NSW.

People coming from a hotspot area are not allowed to enter Queensland unless they're a resident, relocating or have an exemption. However, anyone allowed in must quarantine for 14 days (either at home or in a government supervised hotel).

People from the rest of Australia are able to enter Queensland freely, provided they complete a Queensland entry pass.

The Queensland government plans to allow all fully vaccinated domestic travellers to enter the state without quarantine by December 17.

Who can travel to WA?


Right now, people in Tasmania, South Australia and the Northern Territory can travel to WA with a G2G pass and not have to quarantine.


The ACT is classified as medium risk, meaning people can only enter with approval, and must quarantine for 14 days after arrival.

Victoria and NSW are classified as "extreme risk", meaning "exemptions are restricted to Commonwealth, State and specialist functions only", and anyone allowed in must enter hotel quarantine.

Who can travel to SA?


People from the NT, Queensland, Tasmania and WA can enter SA without quarantine.

Travel to SA from Victoria, NSW or the ACT is not allowed, except for some exemptions, including essential travellers, SA residents returning home and people escaping domestic violence. 

Exempted travellers must quarantine as directed (at home for essential travellers or as directed for other categories) and submit to a COVID-19 test on days 1, 5 and 13 of their time in quarantine.

Who can travel to Tasmania?

Spirit of Tasmania

Tasmania is open to people from Queensland, WA, South Australia and the NT.

NSW, the ACT and Victoria have all been declared high-risk areas by Tasmania and are subject to travel restrictions.

People approved must undergo hotel quarantine, unless they are otherwise eligible for Tasmania's home quarantine program.

The Tasmanian government today announced that from December 15th, their borders will open to interstate and international arrivals who are fully vaccinated and return a negative test within 72 hours of their travel. 

Who can travel to the NT?


People in Queensland, Tasmania, SA and WA are all permitted to enter the NT. 

NSW, Victoria and the ACT have all been declared hotspots, meaning only returning residents will be allowed in.

Travellers into the NT from those areas will be required to enter supervised quarantine for 14 days at their own expense.


Want to be kept in the loop about borders? 

Make sure to follow us on Instagram and view our daily stories for updates on domestic and international borders as well as flight specials!